Things We Are Smiling About

Annual Fort Dodge High School – Keep the Smile Alive Scholarship winners

Jessica Lunn-Vonsak, Karlee Frein, Breanne Degelau, Mitch Lunn

Jessica Lunn-Vonsak and Mitch Lunn with winners Karlee Frein and Breanne Degelau

The Keep the Smile Alive Katie Lunn Memorial Fund gave out its annual college scholarship in Katie’s hometown of Fort Dodge, IA on May 20, 2013. The scholarship is awarded to a graduating student from Fort Dodge Senior High. This scholarship is different from others because a student may not apply for it themselves. They must be nominated by a person whom they have inspired in their lifetime. The peer must write an essay describing the nominees character, leadership, and positive impact on other’s lives. The peer who writes the essay also receives a scholarship.
Five essays are chosen as finalists and invited to a banquet dinner. The 2013 winners were announced at the banquet held at Willow Ridge Golf Course. The five authors presented their essays to the crowd of teachers, parents, and peers that were gathered to celebrate these exceptional students. This years winning essay was written by Karlee Frein. Karlee wrote about her best friend and winner of this years Keep the Smile Alive FDSH scholarship Brianne Degelau. Brianne and Karlee will both use these scholarships at the University of Iowa this fall. Congrats to you both and remember to Keep the Smile Alive!

2013 Finalists: Mariah Welter, Fatima Newsome, Tommy Halligan, Keegan Jones, Connor Hubard, Jake Porter, Morgan Bowman, Karlee Frein, Breanne Degelau

2013 Finalists: Mariah Welter, Fatima Newsome, Tommy Halligan, Keegan Jones, Connor Hubbard, Jake Porter, Ashton Pederson, Morgan Bowman, Karlee Frein, and Breanne Degelau

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.