Things We Are Smiling About

2019 Fort Dodge Senior High Katie Lunn “Keep the Smile Alive” Scholarship is awarded!

Last evening May 7th, Juliet Thompson was awarded the Katie Lunn Keep the Smile Alive scholarship. She was peer nominated by Brooke Erickson who also won a scholarship.

Winner Juliet Thompson and Nominator Brooke Erickson

Scholarship winners Juliet Thompson and Brooke Erickson

In its 8th year, this peer nominated scholarship, which was the idea of Katie’s siblings Mitch Lunn and Jessica Vonsak, encourages FD senior high students seeking the scholarship to write an essay nominating a fellow student that has positively impacted their life. This year there were 18 essays written. The criteria used for selecting the winner is based on the character and attributes that emulate Katie Lunn. The finalist and winners are selected by a committee of teachers that taught or went to school with Katie.

Each year the 10 finalist (5 nominators and 5 nominees) and their families are invited to an awards dinner at Willow Ridge to honor the late Katie Lunn. Katie’s character and attributes are introduced to the group through a short video followed by dinner. After dinner each of the nominators read their nomination essays to the group followed by the announcement of the winner.

This year’s finalist were; Emily Asay, Cole Pearson, Michael Martin, Lizzie Baker, Juliet Thompson, Brooke Erickson, Kayla Smith, Keziah Henkelman and Nathanael Hayes.


2019 Finalists

We would like to thank all of the students that were finalists and the teachers on the selection committee. We would also like to recognize and thank Supt. of Schools, Dr. Jesse Ulrich for attending this year’s awards dinner.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.